book review

Book Review: Vows & Ruins (The Legends of Thezmarr #2) by Helen Scheuerer

vows and ruinsBook: Vows & Ruins
Series: The Legends of Thezmarr #2
Author: Helen Scheuerer
Age & Genre: Adult fantasy romance

Against all odds, Althea Zoltaire emerged from her trials as a champion. Now, she must train even harder and prepare herself to become a true warrior of Thezmarr.

But Thea’s world is turned upside down as she struggles to navigate her newfound magic and uncover the secrets of her past. Slowly, she begins to untangle the truth about her family, her powers and the evil that threatens to engulf the kingdom.

When Wilder Hawthorne returns to be her official mentor, everything changes. Dark forces are gathering, and he will stop at nothing to prepare her for the challenges to come, even if it means breaking her.

As war looms and their quest for answers leads master and apprentice deeper into danger, the undeniable connection between them intensifies – defying all odds, but also threatening to tear them apart.

With secrets unravelling and evil closing in, Thea and Wilder fight to save the world, and each other. The fate of the realms rests in their hands – will they emerge victorious, or will the darkness consume them both?

My Rating: 3 STARS

My Review:

I loved Blood & Steel which was the first book in this series so I was very excited about reading Vows & Ruins and I did enjoy this book but I didn’t love it as much as I did the first book.

The main reason why I didn’t love it quite as much as the first one was because the romance felt a little off. I love Thea and Wilder’s romance but their relationship became very repetitive in Vows & Ruins especially the sex scenes. It felt like for most of the book they kept going over the same things. I think the first book had much better pacing of the relationship which made it more interesting to read. They also didn’t open up much with each other which led to some miscommunication.

I did still enjoy reading about the characters, they each have a lot of depth to them. I love reading about Thea’s friendship with Cal and Kipp and it was interesting to read more about Torj the Bear Slayer in this book. I really like finding out more about the world of Thezmarr with each book and I find the writing and the story to be very compelling to read which makes it a quick read.

Overall I liked Vows & Ruins and I find the writing and world of this series very intriguing to read about. I do love reading about Thea and Wilder’s romance but I did feel it was a little off in this book with numerous repetitive sex scenes and some miscommunication that wasn’t needed. I still love reading about these characters and I’m interested in what is going to happen next.

Leave a comment